Election Dates and Ballot Info

Are you ready to vote in Hays County?

Countywide Polling Sites

There were big changes to elections in Hays County in 2019.

Now you can vote at any polling site on Election Day. In the past, voters had to vote at their assigned precinct. The new countywide polling system allows registered voters to cast a ballot at any Hays County vote center, regardless of the precinct in which they live.

Polling Sites

Some polling sites have changed. See the links below to see lists of the new polling sites.

Important Upcoming Election Dates

  • Oct. 5 — Last Day to Register to Vote
  • Oct. 13 — First Day of Early Voting
  • Oct. 23 — Last Day to Apply for a Vote by Mail Ballot (Received not postmarked)
  • Oct. 30 — Last Day of Early Voting
  • Nov. 3 — Election Day

Early Voting Period

Early Voting Week 1
  • Tuesday, Oct. 13 – Friday, Oct. 16: 10 a.m. – 7 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 17: 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Oct. 18: 1 p.m. – 6 p.m.
Early Voting Week 2
  • Monday, Oct. 19 – Friday, Oct. 23: 10 a.m. -7 p.m.
  • Saturday, Oct. 24: 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.
  • Sunday, Oct. 25: 1 p.m. – 6 p.m.
Early Voting Week 3
  • Monday, Oct. 26 – Friday, Oct. 30: 7 a.m. – 7 p.m.

New Voting Machines

Hays County has new voting machines. The new voting machines are called ballot marking devices and feature improvements over the previous machines.

  • Voter-friendly electronic voter interface
  • Easy-to-read, anonymous printed vote records
  • ADA-compliant accessible interfaces

Watch a Video to See How the Machines Work


Interactive Voting Location Maps

Early Voting Locations Map

Click on the map below to open an interactive map to see specific locations around the county.

Election Day Voting Location Map

Click on the map below to open an interactive map to see specific locations around the county.

Why should you vote for Democrats all the way down the ballot?

  • Democrats can capture a majority in the Texas House by holding current seats and flipping 9 more!
  • Texas House members will redraw congressional districts in the 2021 legislative session. Electing more Democrats means fairer maps!
  • You can bring balance to the Texas Supreme Court and the Texas Court of Criminal Appeals, which are currently dominated by Republicans!
  • You can turn Hays County True Blue by electing local Democrats to county offices and judicial positions!

2020 Democratic Party Candidates

Statewide Democratic Candidates

Statewide Judicial Democratic Candidates

  • Amy Clark Meachum, Chief Justice, Texas Supreme Court — Website | Donate
  • Kathy Cheng, Justice, Texas Supreme Court, Place 6 — Website | Donate
  • Staci Williams, Justice, Texas Supreme Court, Place 7 — Website | Donate
  • Gisela D. Triana, Justice, Texas Supreme Court, Place 8 — Website | Donate
  • Elizabeth Davis Frizell, Judge, Court Of Criminal Appeals, Place 3 — Website Donate
  • Tina Clinton, Judge, Court Of Criminal Appeals, Place 4 — Website | Donate
  • Brandon Birmingham, Court Of Criminal Appeals, Place 9 — Website | Donate

Congressional Democratic Candidates

Regional Democratic Candidates 

  • Judith Zaffirini, State Senator District 21 — Website | Donate
  • Rebecca Bell-Metereau, State Board of Education, District 5 — Website | Donate
  • Erin Zwiener, State Representative, District 45 — Website | Donate
  • Darlene Byrne, Chief Justice, 3rd Court Of Appeals
  •  — Website | Donate

Hays County Democratic Judicial Candidates

  • Sherri Tibbe, District Judge 453rd Judicial District — Website | Donate
  • Millie Thompson, Judge Hays County Court at Law #3 — Website | Donate

Hays County Democratic Candidates

  • Alex Villalobos, Hays County Sheriff — Website | Donate
  • Daphne Tenorio, Tax Assessor-Collector — Website | Donate
  • Lisa Prewitt, Commissioner, Precinct 3 — Website | Donate
  • Debbie Gonzales Ingalsbe, Commissioner, Precinct 1 — Website
  • Jo Anne Prado, Justice of the Peace, Precinct. 1, Place 1 — Website | Donate
  • David Peterson, Constable, Precinct 1 — Website | Donate by sending via mail to P.O. Box, 447, San Marcos, Texas, 78667
  • Michael Torres, Constable, Precinct 2 — Website | Donate
  • Cynthia Millonzi, Constable, Precinct 3 — Website | Donate

Learn about the candidates

Read candidate questionnaire answers on the League of Women Voters' Vote411 website, which features a customized ballot based on your address.

Also, you can read candidate campaign announcements that were provided by candidates to the Hays County Democratic Party.

Vote by mail information

The Hays County Democratic Party has compiled a list of answers to frequently asked questions about voting by mail.

Sample Ballots

Check your voter registration status

Visit the Secretary of State’s website to check your voter registration status.

Questions at the polls?

The Hays County Democratic Party has set up a hotline and email address if you experience problems at the polls.